If you liked this musical, read this book πŸŽΆπŸ“•

Dear reader,

As you may know, I am a huge musical nerd. I listen to musicals 80% of my time. I have been talking about musical theatre for quite a while now and last year I did a post where I recommended a book for every musicals I loved listening or (re)listening in 2020. Today I’ll be doing something quite similar, which I already posted on my Instagram account a few weeks ago.

Without further ado, let me recommend you books based on your musical tastes! (Also work the other way around, so if you loved this book, check out this musical!)


β₯ For fans of Dear Evan Hansen

Dear Evan Hansen is all about a teen boy trying desperately to fit it while still discussing mental health issues. Because of it all, I thought The Perks of Being a Wallflower was the perfect fit: it talks about mental health as well and focuses around a teen boy who really wants to fit in and to make friends despite being extremely shy and introverted. Who’s ready to be Waving through a window to Charlie?

β₯ For fans of In the Heights

I adore In the Heights and cannot wait for the movie. But while we all wait for it (desperately), may I introduce to its book fit. So both are really different but I assumed Jackpot would do the trick. Both discusses about the lottery, relationships, taking care of your loved ones, struggling in life because of money etc. If like me 96000 is your favourite song, you’ll definitely love Jackpot.

β₯ For fans of The Phantom of the Opera

If you loved The Phantom of the Opera for its music, the fantasy elements and the love story, as well as the very atmospheric setting and all the drama, then you will love Wintersong in which we follow a teenage girl who feels as if all her musical dreams are slipping away, who plays Mozart all day long and who journeys to the Underground to save her little sister taken by the Goblin King. May Liesl be his Angel of Music?

β₯ For fans of Mamma Mia!

Ah, Mamma Mia! One of my favourites, definitely. I mean, who wouldn’t want to leave for Greece to seduce three men and dance on Abba songs all day long? I’m 100% in. In the meanwhile, if it is your dream too, you may enjoy reading The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Hang on, let me explain. They both take place during the summer (and even both in Greece!) and they both discusses relationships with friends, lovers and mostly family. Carmen, Bridget, Lena and Tibby will talk to you all about their Last Summer

β₯ For fans of Waitress

Waitress talks about motherhood, finding yourself and cooking, which also are all the themes in With the Fire on High. I definitely feel as if they have similar vibes and I’m sure you’ll love Emoni’s story as much as Jenna’s. After all, It Only Takes a Taste, right?

β₯ For fans of & Juliet

And for our grand finale, may I introduce you to & Juliet and its bookish fit. Once again, they are both different but they match on some levels. & Juliet is a Romeo and Juliet retelling told through modern pop songs while Anna K: A Love Story is an Anna Karenina retelling told through modern and rich teenagers. They definitely have the same energy and will take you on a ride through this Teenage Dream.


And that’s all!

Have you read any of these books or listened to those musicals?

Love always,

Clara

2 thoughts on “If you liked this musical, read this book πŸŽΆπŸ“•”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s