Three steampunk books I want to read ⚙️📓

thebookwormofnotredame-8.png

Dear reader,

At the beginning of the year I told you all about my 2020 bookish resolutions. One of them was, and already was in my bookish resolutions for 2018, to read more steampunk book. In 2017 I indeed discovered that I adored this genre and have been meaning to read more of it ever since. To motivate myself to finally get to it I browsed tons of lists to find a few books that caught my interest.

Without further ado here are three steampunk novels I want to read!


 Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

What it’s about: Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever.

3

Why I want to read it: It has great reviews, it’s both historical fiction and steampunk, which I adore, and it talks about a prince. What more could I possibility want?

 Soulless by Gail Carrier

What it’s about: Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

4

Why I want to read it: This book kinda reminds me of the Infernal Devices series, which is one of my favourite, because it’s historical fiction mixed with fantasy and steampunk elements. It should be for me, right?

 The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer

What it’s about: Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners, Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan and Phillip Reeve’s Mortal Engines.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

5

Why I want to read it: Simply because I am a fan of The Diviners and Clockwork Angel.


And that’s it!

Do you like steampunk books? Have you ever read any? Which one would you recommend me?

Love always,

Clara

6

2 thoughts on “Three steampunk books I want to read ⚙️📓”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s